Who’s Pointing At You?

David Gaughran

The Also Boughts on your page are an important indication of what readers are buying along with your books.

But those particular Also Boughts are only part of the story. What’s really important is which books are pointing back at you.

Let’s use my long-suffering book Liberty Boy as an example again.

As I explained yesterday’s post – Please Don’t Buy My BookLiberty Boy was dragged down into the ranking depths after having no Also Boughts for months thanks to an Amazon snafu. I eventually fixed that problem in a fairly crude way by running a 99c Countdown and throwing whatever ads I could get at it.

The promo itself did okay and sold a few hundred copies for me. But I didn’t target the campaign in an optimal way. If you look at the Also Boughts which appeared afterwards, I had lots of books outside my target…

View original post 1,332 more words

Leave a Reply

