My Monday guest, Christoph Fischer, author of historical novels and contemporary family dramas

I’m absolutely delighted to welcome Christoph Fischer today. Christoph was born in Germany, near the Austrian border, the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. Not a full local in the eyes and ears of his peers, he developed an ambiguous sense of belonging at home in Bavaria. He moved to Hamburg in pursuit of his studies and to lead a life of literary indulgence. After a few years he moved on to the UK where he now lives in a small town in West Wales. He and his partner have three Labradoodles to complete their family.

Christoph worked for the British Film Institute, in Libraries, Museums and for an airline.

Christoph 1

How would you describe yourself as a colour, Christoph?

Warm but dark blue canvass oil. I like the idea of a solid consistency as opposite to runny water but I like that oil can have light or darker shades.

Are you a morning person, or a midnight candle burner?

Definitely a morning person – much to the joy of the dogs and to the annoyance of my midnight candle burning partner.

Ah! Tell me something you would like your readers to know about you.

I’m currently organising a local Book Fair in Llandeilo. It is being held on April 30th and I would like all your Welsh followers and readers to come and visit.

I hope they do! If you could morph into any creature what would it be?

A dolphin or a kite.

If you don’t mind me asking, why a dolphin or a kite?

So I could swim the Ocean or fly the skies.

Perfect! What kind of music do you listen to? Do you have an all-time favourite song?

I’m a bit of an 80s and pop man, but I like a lot of different music styles, too. Jazz, R&B and soft rock. My favourite song is Xanadu by Olivia Newton-John. Not ashamed to own up to it 🙂

Ha! Let’s talk about your writing now. How did you come to write your genera of books?

They always found me through my personal interests or ideas. I was doing some ancestry research in 2010 and that resulted in my first published novel becoming a historical novel, “The Luck of the Weissensteiners”.

Christoph 3

When Alzheimers’ Disease became a prominent feature in my life I read a lot about it and that turned into the subject of my next novel, “Time to Let Go” (almost naturally a contemporary family drama).

Christoph 5

Last year my partner mentioned the idea for a thriller and asked me to write it, which became “The Healer”.

51yc4wyNVZL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Would you like to write a different genre?

Oh yes. I would love to write a comedy. I love a good laugh but so far most of my stories have come out as dramas. The world needs more smiles and laughter.

So true. What is your favourite part of writing?

The first draft, when the story is still in development and anything could happen.

What is your least favourite part?

The first edits after beta readers and editors found flaws and inconsistencies. Sometimes I need to eliminate parts that were dear to my heart, like a character name, a location or just a phrase. It’s a necessary evil but it’s not fun.

I agree. ‘Murdering your darlings’ is always hard. Tell us, would you ever consider a joint project?

Yes, absolutely. I’ve collaborated on a few anthologies and enjoyed the inspirational spark that comes from working together with other authors.

Which of your own characters is your particular favourite?

Jonah Weissensteiner is a wonderfully warm and jovial father figure. He has a big heart, wisdom and a great sense of humour.

Tell us about your recently released book, please.

I’ve just released “Ludwika: A Polish Woman’s Struggle to Survive in Nazi Germany”. The book is very close to my heart because Ludwika Gierz was a real person, the mother of a friend of mine. Telling her story was very rewarding. It shows a different type of suffering that the Nazi Policies and WW2 caused. Millions of Eastern Europeans were used as slave workers in Germany. I also hope that through the publicity that the book creates, we may be able to connect Ludwika’s descendants in the UK with family left in Poland. Christoph 2

Christoph 4

That would be fab. And do you have a new book coming out soon?

I’m in the final stages of editing “African August”, a contemporary action drama set in Uganda. A 30-year old man drops out of society to go travelling in Africa. He finds himself torn between his plans to do some good and his appetite for adventure. The novel will be released as part of an anthology in aid of a no-kill animal shelter. Much of the story is based on my own travels in Africa.

Fascinating! Please let us have your social media and book links!

Website: http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

Blog: http://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6590171.Christoph_Fischer

Amazon: http://ow.ly/BtveY

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CFFBooks

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/christophffisch/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/106213860775307052243

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=241333846

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WriterChristophFischer?ref=hl

Thanks for joining me and my readers today and all the best with your writing, Christoph.

Thanks for having me, Siobhan.

6 thoughts on “My Monday guest, Christoph Fischer, author of historical novels and contemporary family dramas

  1. Reblogged this on writerchristophfischer and commented:
    My Monday guest, Christoph Fischer, author of historical novels and contemporary family dramas
    Posted on January 25, 2016
    I’m absolutely delighted to welcome Christoph Fischer today. Christoph was born in Germany, near the Austrian border, the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. Not a full local in the eyes and ears of his peers, he developed an ambiguous sense of belonging at home in Bavaria. He moved to Hamburg in pursuit of his studies and to lead a life of literary indulgence. After a few years he moved on to the UK where he now lives in a small town in West Wales. He and his partner have three Labradoodles to complete their family.

    Christoph worked for the British Film Institute, in Libraries, Museums and for an airline.

    How would you describe yourself as a colour, Christoph?

    Warm but dark blue canvass oil. I like the idea of a solid consistency as opposite to runny water but I like that oil can have light or darker shades.

    Are you a morning person, or a midnight candle burner?

    Definitely a morning person – much to the joy of the dogs and to the annoyance of my midnight candle burning partner.

    Ah! Tell me something you would like your readers to know about you.

    I’m currently organising a local Book Fair in Llandeilo. It is being held on April 30th and I would like all your Welsh followers and readers to come and visit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

