Joanna Maitland asks: ‘Why Go Indie?’

Joanna Maitland embraces freedom.

Sue Moorcroft blog

Happy Couple Driving on Country Road into the Sunset in Classic

At the risk of stating the obvious, I’d say the answer is freedom.

Here’s an example of independent author freedom in action. As originally published, in the Harlequin Undone! series of short ebooks, His Silken Seduction was well under 50 pages. That was the length the line required, so that was the length I wrote. Simples!

When I reread it, for the first time in more than five years, I could see that the characters were just begging for more room to tell their story. Some readers had already told me so, in fact, but I hadn’t been able to change anything, first time round.

As I struck off their shackles, the characters gave three excited cheers at the prospect of freedom and simply took charge of the story.

Bird tattoos come to life, freedom concept

They wanted to show me what was missing before – how they were falling in love in the midst of…

View original post 417 more words

Leave a Reply

