My Monday guest, Jade West, queen of erotic romance.

Today I’m absolutely delighted to be chatting with the amazing Jade West. Jade and I met about a year ago through our editor John Hudspith. Her “Dirty Bad” erotic romance series has stormed up the Amazon USA charts and her current release, Dirty Bad Strangers, has been ranked as high as #14 in the top 100 bestsellers. All well deserved. Jade is a hugely talented writer, unafraid to push the boundaries, and I love her work.

Jade

Welcome, Jade. How would you describe yourself as a colour?

The very darkest red, bordering on black. I’m an absolute goth at heart, but there is a flash of scarlet and blood and Coca-Cola. I’m quite a drama queen – a gothic drama queen – so black-red sums me up very nicely. 🙂

Are you a morning person, or a midnight candle burner?

Most definitely a midnight candle burner. I often see the morning, but it’s invariably through lack of sleep the night before. I pull all-nighters way more than I’d recommend. Sleep deprivation is a close buddy of mine.

I find there is something magical in the quiet of the early hours, some kind of psychic stillness which allows my muse to play. I get most of my writing done during this time.

Fascinating! Tell me something you would like your fans to know about you.

I write largely from experience, and I hope that shows. I really was a chatline operator, and I really am a filthy cow.

Hahaha! Bedtime, relaxing so you can sleep sounds or Is your preference for white noise, TV, soft music, ocean waves, forest or meadow sounds, babbling brook, or something else?

My bedtime is often in the middle of the day, and I’m normally like a zombie when I climb between the sheets. Silence and heavy curtains suit me.

When did you start writing?

I started writing years ago, and in fact I quit my day job when I was about twenty-five with the intention of becoming an author. I was working on a godawful paranormal story at the time, and completed a year’s creative writing course with the Open University to help me along my way. Luckily, I didn’t finish that book! I ended up running a business for seven years instead. 

In honesty, I’m not sure as to why I started writing. Some kind of calling, I guess. I’ve written journals since I was eleven, so writing has been a part of life for a long time now. I live in my head, a lot, so stories seem to appear naturally, along with the urge to write them down.

Awesome! Where do you get your ideas from?

The subconscious. It’s a greater storyteller than the rest of me could ever hope to be.

How did you come to write erotica?

I think I was born dirty. Erotica is the obvious choice for me. Nobody who has ever known me in everyday life would be even vaguely surprised!

51GsqYjj3GL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

What is your favourite part of writing a novel?

My favourite part of writing a novel has come about quite recently. I work with John Hudspith, who’s an incredible editor, and we’ve taken on a way of collaborating which suits me well. It’s almost like real-time editing, although we are in completely different parts of the country. I’ll be writing while he’s editing, and it comes together beautifully. It’s one of my greatest joys.

Mine too! So, how do you handle a writer’s block?

I get my editor to kick me up the arse. He has a strong foot. 🙂

Hahaha! Do you write long hand first, or does it go straight onto the computer?

Straight onto the computer. I use a software package called WriteItNow and I would strongly recommend it.

Yes, I’ve got that one too but mostly use it for planning and making research notes. Are you a “sit down and play it by ear” kind of writer, or do you need a structured guideline, or maybe a little of both?

I have a structured guideline – a list of scenes – and I let myself flow freely within that. So, I’ll know which scene I’m writing, but let it take shape however it wishes.

51txmcyOsxL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

So, do you always know how a story will end when you begin writing it?

Yes, although the route to that end will sometimes surprise me.

And your work is definitely based on real life experience?

Most certainly. 🙂

Do you like to read the genre that you write?

Yes. I love a good erotica novel, especially a dirty-as-hell one with a filthy talking lead.

Hahaha! What are you working on now? Would you like to share anything about it?

Dirty Bad Strangers was only released last week, and I am now at the beginning on the next project. It’s a dark tale, with Halloween in mind.

Wow! Tell us a bit about your recent release, Dirty Bad Strangers.

Dirty Bad Strangers is the story of a chatline operator who gets involved with one of her clients. They share the same fantasy – group sex. Our lovely curvaceous heroine wants to be taken by multiple men she doesn’t know, and she well and truly gets her wish.

I loved writing this book. The characters really got under my skin, as did the romance. It’s my favourite of the three.

51hqFcWv+wL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

It’s my favourite too. Gemma and Jason are wonderful characters. It’s been great chatting with you, Jade. Before you go, please let us have your stalk links.

You can catch me over at:

www.facebook.com/jadewestauthor

www.twitter.com/jadewestauthor

www.jadewestauthor.com

Thank you for having me!

THANK YOU! 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “My Monday guest, Jade West, queen of erotic romance.

  1. “I write largely from experience, and I hope that shows. I really was a chatline operator, and I really am a filthy cow.” From the heart, as always, which is what makes Jade West a great storyteller.

    Like

Leave a Reply

