My Monday guest, Joy Wood, definitely not a donkey!

Joy Wood

Today, I’m delighted to host debut novelist Joy Wood to my blog. We’ve recently become friends, both of us sharing the same fantastic editor, John Hudspith, and amazing cover designer J D Smith. Welcome, Joy! Please tell me something you would like readers to know about you.

I have worked at a nurse all my adult life, and despite the many reorganisations I have been involved in throughout the NHS, I’m passionate about healthcare with the patient being the focus and not bureaucracy. If we all put the patient at the centre of decision making, then there would be a great improvement in the service. Instead we are driven by numerous targets, which can be ‘fiddled’, and dare I say, implemented at the cost of quality patient care.

If you could morph into any creature what would it be?

A Donkey.

SI Exif

If you don’t mind me asking, why a donkey?

To join the rest of them in Parliament!

Hahaha! Good answer!!

I’m a music lover. What kind of music do you listen to? Do you have an all-time favourite song?

I prefer music from the 50’s 60’s and 70’s. I was brought up on this music as my late father was a fisherman, and when ashore (in those days maybe for just 2 days at a time), music would feature loudly throughout the house each morning ’till dusk. On a school morning, I would wake to the beautiful voice of Roy Orbison, the unique strings of Buddy Holly and the rhythm of Elvis blaring out from the record deck – those where the days!

Sounds great. If your life were a movie would it be considered an action film, comedy, drama, romance, fantasy or a combination? Why?

A drama. It would be a lifelong true story about nursing. I would hope the ending would leave the audience begging for a return to the traditional values of the NHS.

So, when did you start writing and why?

To see if I could. I used to be very successful in consumer competitions as a slogan writer. I love word play, and quickly deduced that humour would win me the prizes. So, I worked on humour, and interjected it into each ditty I wrote, and was rewarded handsomely. I moved onto poems and short stories, and then decided I’d go for a ‘proper story’, and the plot for my book was ‘hatched’.

Where do you get your ideas from, Joy?

I moved to the seaside (Cleethorpes) two years ago. Each day I walk the sea front (come rain or shine) and weather permitting, sit and watch the tide. I just love water.  I make little chapters up in my mind, and then when I’m home, capture them on the laptop.

How did you come to write romance?

I like reading romance myself. It’s a bit of escapism and I felt, as a new writer, I would be more likely to attract a larger audience. What woman doesn’t like a bit of romance?!?

Very true. What do you think is the hardest part of writing a book?

Editing. Without doubt. I’d not written before, remember. I could write what I thought was a good story, but I wondered whether the writing was good enough, and, initially, it wasn’t. So, there was lots of POV work to be done, and lots of cutting, and my grammar needed a bit of work. (I hope John Hudspith is not reading this as he’ll be choking on his tea at ‘a bit of work’!)

What’s your favourite part of writing?

Just writing, initially. Whether it’s satisfactory, bad, not quite good enough, needs some work, etc., doesn’t matter to me. I just love sitting and writing my thoughts down. I write as I speak. Obviously there is a lot of cutting that has to be done, but I like the feeling of getting those words down on paper.

And your least favourite part?

Promoting! I’m not a great one for pushing myself forward. It’s ridiculous really when I’ve spent my life as a health educator, speaking in public/in schools, lecturing at University, and counselling, and yet, when it comes to promoting my book, I’m not good at all. And let’s not go there about having my photograph taken . . .

Would you ever consider a joint project?

No, it wouldn’t be fair on the other person, I’d always think my ideas were the best!

Do you always know how a story will end when you begin writing it?

Yes, I have the beginning and the end written of the next one, I just need to fill the bits in-between!

Generally speaking, is your work based on real-life experience?

Oh, my goodness, no. If I’d been lucky enough to be with any of these hunky leading men, I wouldn’t be sitting here writing this now!

Would you want it to be based on real-life experience?

No, I wouldn’t. I’ve been exceptionally lucky, and have had a wonderful life so far, which, God willing, I hope will continue, but nothing exciting that anyone would want to read about.

What are you working on now? Would you like to share anything about it?

Yes, I’m working on a book about a small independent hospital, and the staff that work in the operating theatre. It’s a romance, but has a definite story to it, with a few surprising twists and turns along the way.

Tell us about your recent release, Joy!

I released my debut novel, For the Love of Emily on 15th August, and the response has been amazing. Currently, it’s received twenty 5 star reviews on UK Amazon, and five 5 star reviews on the US site. The book is a contemporary romance about Rebecca, a young woman with a deadly secret. She creates beautiful dresses by day, and works as a high class prostitute for female clients at night. The two other central characters, a middle-aged lesbian, and a strong charismatic wealthy businessman, both want Rebecca and will stop at nothing to get her.

FOR THE LOVE OF EMILY

While the content of the novel is very graphic sexually, (Amazon review ‘…the author gets you turning the pages so quickly, your fingers will be on fire…’), I sincerely hope the reader will enjoy the content of the story and the intrigue along the way. (Amazon review ‘…I found myself led down many dead-ends, as I was convinced I had ‘sussed’ it all out, only to be dealt another clever, well thought out and executed ‘twist’… and there are a number of them so be ready for a roller coaster ride.’) It is available from Amazon as either a paperback, or a Kindle version, and I’ve specifically asked at the end of the book for feedback from the readers, which hopefully will shape my next novel!

How can we find you? Do you have a web page, a Facebook page or any buy links?

Yes, I do:

Buy link: hhttp://bookgoodies.com/a/B012GKUK8I.

Facebook: www.facebook.com/joywoodauthor

Website: joywoodauthor.wordpress.com

Twitter: @Joywoodauthor

Thank you Siobhan for giving me the opportunity to share ‘a little bit about me’ today.

If there are any queries at all, I’m happy to be contacted by email joymarywood@yahoo.co.uk

Thank YOU, my lovely. It’s been a REAL joy hosting you on my blog and I wish you every success with your writing. I’ve got “For the Love of Emily” on my Kindle and can’t wait to start reading.

Facebook Banner Joy Wood2 (5)

Leave a Reply

