The Bela Vista Hotel, Macau

I’ve just updated this post about the Bela Vista in Macau, one of the settings for “The Orchid Tree”, and thought it worth a re-blog.

Siobhan Daiko

These photos are of my father, Douglas Bland, taken during my parents’ honeymoon in the Bela Vista Hotel, Macau, in May 1949. This hotel features in my novel, The Orchid Tree.

Here’s an excerpt:

“After loping along an avenue lined with banyan trees and up a small hill, they arrived at the Bela Vista. Higgins was leaning against the door frame of the elegant nineteenth century mansion. ‘At last,’ he said, holding a cigarette between his thumb and forefinger and flicking ash.

James settled his fare. It was only five minutes past eight; he wasn’t late. He lengthened his stride and followed Higgins through the foyer, up a staircase to a mezzanine floor, then past a reception desk and bar.

In the restaurant, the smuggler got up from his seat and pulled out the chair next to him. ‘Let me introduce myself properly,’ he said in heavily…

View original post 316 more words

8 thoughts on “The Bela Vista Hotel, Macau

  1. Thank you for liking my post – your life sounds fascinating. I am ashamed to say I have not come across your writing, but I will now make an effort to find it. I guess with such a full and varied life you have lots to draw on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

