Monday interview with Gisela Hausmann

Today, I’m delighted to welcome Gisela Hausmann to Douglas Bland Artist’s studio in Italy. Gisela and I met online just over a year ago, when she was kind enough to review my short story Mamma Mia!

GH mid size

 An award-winning author, Gisela has also also co-piloted small planes, produced movies, and among eight other books designed a coffee-table book, which was chosen as a gift for President Clinton. A unique mixture of risk-taker and calculating organisation talent, she has globe-trotted almost 100,000 kilometers on three continents, including to the locations of her favourite books: Doctor Zhivago’s Russia, Heinrich Harrer’s Tibet, and Genghis Khan’s Mongolia. Gisela Hausmann graduated with a master’s degree from the University of Vienna. She now lives with her cats Artemis and Yin-Yang in Greenville, SC, USA.

So glad you can join me for a chat and an aperitivo, Gisela. What can I offer you? A glass of Prosecco? A spritzer? A Bellini? Or perhaps some Pinot Grigio or Shiraz?

Thank you for inviting me, Siobhan. My favourite red wine is  Shiraz and I hear they produce a fabulous Shiraz on the west coast of Sicily; it goes well with pizza, which is one of my favourite foods.

Ooh, think I’ll have one too. (Pours two glasses) And I happen to have some pizza capriciosa, fresh from the village pizzeria. 

13c15f23034f3fe8_2634-w144-h144-b1-p0--traditional-wine-glasses

303

Cheers and buon appetito! Okay, darlin’, make yourself comfortable! I’m over the moon you’ve agreed to this interview and would like to start by asking, ‘What inspired you to become a writer?’

Haha, indeed there is a funny part to my career as a writer, I actually started out designing books. The good part about this was that I learned a lot about book production, about the technical aspects. After publishing two aerial photography coffee-table books and four educational books for youngsters the Great Recession brought my endeavours to a standstill. Like I describe in my book Naked Determination, 41 Stories about Overcoming Fear

I was a young widow by then, with two young children to support, and times were bad, really bad. I had a lot of hurdles to climb and eventually realized how experiencing adventures at better times had given me the skills to dive through these difficulties. Many of these stories are really funny or unique. Suddenly, everything fell in place. I saw that I could publish these stories in form of a motivational life skills book. You see, I grew up in a teachers’ family. Every time I asked a question somebody raised an index finger and held a speech. But, that’s not the way anybody wants to learn, even if the advice is the best ever. Humans are conditioned to learn from stories – “find the moral of the story” even, if it’s not really a moral but a clever trick. So, that’s what I did. I took the best stories, events which allowed me to learn something really important, and turned these funny, exciting, and dramatic stories into a book. It’s been a huge success. Naked Determination” went on to win Bronze at the eLit awards 2013 and Gold at the Readers Favorite Awards 2014. Many dozens of people have written me that reading my book made a difference in their lives. It makes me feel that I am contributing.

bn red 4 soc

You’re such an inspiration, Gisela, with an original voice. This is the review I wrote on Amazon for your humorous life skills book that addresses difficult to define topics such as
#TRUST, #ALLIANCES, #TIMING, # MONEY, #FEAR, #GUTS, #WEIGHT ISSUES, #AFFAIRS, #LOVE, #DISCIPLINE, #REJECTION, #RESPECT, #UNDERDOGS, #MOTIVATION, #OVERCOMING, #HOPE
in the most pleasant way – by featuring 41 true stories. Naked Determination, and I meant every word:

I found Gisela Hausmann’s autobiography to be a compelling read. Each story about overcoming fear spoke to me. As the author herself says, ‘this book is not a self-help book – it is a reminder’ that through determination it’s possible to succeed. Gisela’s honesty shines through every word, not in a ‘preachy’ way, but more as if you were listening to a friend chat about what life has taught her. Take from it what you will, she doesn’t lay it on you. As Margaret Attwood said, ‘in the end, we’ll all become stories’. It’s what we make of them, and life, that Gisela highlights in her remarkable memoir. Such a courageous lady, and I’m full of admiration for her. I love the fact that 5% of the proceeds from sales of this book will go to the Red Cross. You’ll need to read “Naked Determination” to discover why that is.

Naked Determination

Can you tell us something about your new series,  The Magic of Flirting?

(smiling) Publishing “The Magic of Flirting” is my answer to a vacuum on the book market. I see lots of romance novels, most of them ending in everlasting love and lots of erotica, which portray unrealistic situations. However, in real life most ‘romantic’ experiences are flirts; maybe men and women never share anything else.

Emma

Flirting is not really addressed in books. Thus, I decided to write a series of books about these moments of attraction, which may or may not lead to a longer relationship.

MOF1

Let’s face it, when we look back at our lives, all of us remember moments when we experienced that instantaneous sizzling drama, which we appreciate for decades to come. We remember these moments fondly, even nothing ever happened. Because so many of these are fleeting moments only, I decided to write short stories, with open ending, so readers can write/imagine/picture their own endings. In a further reaching sense couples can even re-enact these stories and “write their own endings”.

Nora

Sounds fascinating, Gisela. You seem firmly rooted in writing inspirational non-fiction. Have you considered fiction writing at all?

What a great question! It’s my goal to LIVE FICTION and TELL THE STORIES IN NON-FICTION format. Even before I ever heard of Steve Jobs, I decided to live my life by his credo “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life…” – Of course, I was very young then but strangely enough it turned out that IT IS POSSIBLE. Regardless of what situation I encountered I always approached it with the thought “How can I live this moment to the fullest?” But, make no mistake, this is about both, the highs and the lows. For instance, when I was in my early twenties, I had very little money but I wanted to travel. So, I bought an Inter-rail ticket, which entitled its owner to travel on Europe’s trains for an entire month. Naturally, trains drive through the night. I took full advantage of that. E.g. I visited Madrid on one day, boarded the train to Lisbon at night, slept on the train and visited Lisbon the next day. That evening I’d board the train to Madrid, and long story short, I visited both cities without ever having to pay for a hotel. That was one of the tricks how I visited 47 countries. Admittedly, I lived every aspect of my life in the same style. Jobs and making money, love and affairs… so, luckily I have enough stories… and I intend to keep going.

Fabulous! Can you tell us something about your other books? Oh, and I think you’re living with an author cat. Please ‘spill the beans’ or perhaps I should say ‘milk’!

Artemis and Lars

Probably every author should have a cat (or a dog). We have to learn from great authors and Hemingway showed us the way.
And, yes, I also published a couple of educational books. The very first one, ‘obvious LETTERS’ (1998) was a very neat success, but boy did I go belly-up with my math books (2003-2005) for various reasons:
a) the trend in education was already going towards e-everything (e-books, computer games… )
b) George Bush’s No-Child-Left-Behind become law and virtually destroyed all small educational publishers. Instead teachers utilizing their budgets and picking books, whole school districts started to buy from the biggest publishers only. The little guys/publishers ‘were left behind’ (pun intended).
c) The U.S. economy was already sliding – people watched not only their dollars but also their pennies.
Combined, these 3 events caused me having to ground my own business at the end of 2005. However, I did learn the lessons and came back better and stronger with “Naked Determination” in 2012.

You’re a role-model, Gisela. Tell us, how have you found the road to publication? Is there anything you’ve done that you’d do differently now with hindsight?

No, not really. Since I am a motivational author I’d like to use this opportunity to give fellow authors advice, which may surprise them: Go to the best in the business and introduce yourself and your work!
I approached a few of the great ones and indeed, Jack Engelhard (author of “Indecent Proposal”, who could forget the drama turned into a motion picture with Demi Moore and Robert Redford? ) and Jay O-Callahan, one of the best storytellers in the world (who was commissioned by NASA to write a story for the organization’s 50th anniversary) read my book and endorsed it. You can find the endorsement at my website.
Especially new authors, who struggle to even get their friends to review their books (all of us do!!!), will be surprised to find out that the “greats” have an open mind and will engage. Most of the greats still remember how things were when they started out. Very often they will pay back and do a new author a favour. So, here I am, living proof that it works and I say to every new author: GO FOR IT! My other advice is, “think long and hard what you are going to write, because the rewards of an endorsement are tremendous. You’ll get instant credibility!

Great advice! On a personal note, what do you get up to when you’re not writing?

Marketing, marketing, marketing – only I don’t see it as a chore, I see it as a way to connect with readers and fans and make my product better. Some of them give brilliant advice. E.g. one fan wrote me: “I cannot imagine what these ‘murals on rocks in Tibet’ look like.” It was an instant awakening on my part. I improved my book by adding 11 new pictures. Without the fan’s suggestion I would have never thought about it.

The pictures are amazing. As for the next stage in your writing career, please tell us about your plans, hopes, dreams and aspirations!

Thank you for asking; that is a question I rarely ever get asked. My first goal is to introduce ‘Naked Determination’ to as many people as possible. Though currently I have 8 books on the market, I think that ‘Naked Determination’ can make a difference in so many people’s lives. In essence, whenever we go out and do ‘something’ we need encouragement; we want to hear that somebody else has been able to do the crazy things we want to do. That is what helps us to realize that we can do it, too. Every week I hear from people what they have started with the encouragement ND gave them. Two people have started writing books, one author friend decided to finally forget about agents and publishers and instead self-publish, one person enrolled into a rowing classes, another one into an art school, yet another person started a house renovation. This last person wanted to buy a certain house she can’t afford, but I helped her realize that she can renovate a house to look like the one she wanted to buy. So, spreading the word that the ‘naked’ motivational book has arrived is most important. My dream is to empower as many people as possible. Our times are crazy and all of us deserve to have our dreams come true.

I wish you every success in achieving your dream, darlin’. It’s been great chatting with you and sharing an aperitivo. Thanks again for joining me. Before you go, please can you leave readers with three facts that might surprise them about you?

1.) I once set the skirt I was wearing on fire while leaning against a gas oven. (Before that event I did not know how that type of oven worked, but I figured it out quickly once I felt the heat under my butt. No future author was harmed in the process; however the skirt was toast)
2.) I do not even sing in the shower, because I cannot hold a tune. I bet the Mormon Tabernacle Choir would have a hard time singing, if I’d hum somewhere in the background
3.) I will never reveal who ‘Jim’ (story MY CASE FOR AFFAIRS) was. Interestingly, quite a few readers have already guessed that he was a really well-known man, I have been getting emails with guesses and questions (Austria is small country with 7 million people.). Though ‘revealing’ would be one way to get publicity I hold myself to higher standards (than maybe Monica Lewinsky).

How intriguing! Readers, if you’d like to know more about Gisela, click http://nakeddetermination.com/. 

Gisela is also on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+, and would love it if you connected with her.

Untitled

6 thoughts on “Monday interview with Gisela Hausmann

  1. Hi from Hong Kong — I’m really enjoying your posts and adventures.
    Look forward to reading your next!
    Feel free to check out my writing about publishing: publishinginsights.org
    Sherry

    Like

Leave a Reply

