Via Roberto Browning in Asolo – my favourite Italian street

venc

Via Roberto Browning in Asolo was named after the English poet and playwright Robert Browning (7 May 1812 – 12 December 1889). I remember studying his poem Home thoughts from Abroad at school: O to be in England, Now that April’s here …

A play, The Barretts of Wimpole Street, was made into two films about Browning’s romance and subsequent marriage to the poet Elizabeth Barrett, suposedly a sweet, innocent young woman who suffered endless cruelties at the hands of a tyrannical papa but who nonetheless had the good fortune to fall in love with a dashing and handsome poet named Robert Browning. From the time of their marriage and until Elizabeth’s death, the Brownings lived in Italy. I quote from Robert Browning’s poem, Asolando:

How many a year, my Asolo,
Since–one step just from sea to land–
I found you, loved yet feared you so–

… Italia’s rare
O’errunning beauty crowds the eye

which sums up my feelings for this beautiful place, and one of the reasons why I have set my novel, Lady of Asolo, here.

Lady of Asolo Cover MEDIUM WEB

4 thoughts on “Via Roberto Browning in Asolo – my favourite Italian street

  1. I’ve visited Italy on two occasions, once for a month, once for just a few days. In Firenze, it was. How I would love to live and write there. Thanks for sharing your reality.

    Like

Leave a Reply

